Journalism in the service of society

NIGER: Gov Bello swears in seven new commissioners

GOVERNOR Abubakar Bello has sworn in seven new Commissioners in the state with a call on them to see their appointments as opportunities to serve the state.

The Governor, who presided over the brief occasion at Government House, Minna, reminded the new State Executive Council members that they were joining the cabinet at a critical period that the administration is winding up but that there are challenges, hence they should distinguish themselves through quality services expected from them.

He said, considering their wealth of experiences, he has no doubt that they will add value to the administration.

Bello congratulated them and enjoined them to work hard as it could open better opportunities for the incoming cabinet members.

“You were selected not by mistake or accident, we did thorough due diligence on each and every one of you and our decision to make you part of this cabinet is based on the recommendation we have received so far about you.

“I have no doubt in my mind that you will add value to this cabinet within the remaining one year or thereabout.

“You are coming in at a very critical stage where government activities, as far as this administration is concerned, is winding up but at the same time, there are challenges. Meaning that you have no time to make a difference.

“You must see this as an opportunity to serve Nigerlites. If you serve properly, it will open doors to greater heights. I wish all of you well and I hope that we will benefit from your wealth of experience”. The Governor said.

The newly sworn-in Commissioners are; Abraham Umar (Gbako LGA), Sani Lafiya (Kontagora LGA), Habila Galadima (Agwara LGA), Muhammad Usman (Chanchaga LGA), Yusuf Muhammad (Borgu LGA), Kabiru Abbas (Mariga LGA) and Musa Emmanuel (Tafa LGA)

Governor Bello had directed all council members that have political ambitions to resign in line with the Electoral Act.

Comments are closed.

Naija Times