Journalism in the service of society

Bayelsa Queens battle six clubs for Women’s CAF Champions League spot

Bayelsa Queens of Nigeria will jostle for a Women’s CAF Champions League ticket with other clubs from Ghana, Togo, Burkina Faso, Cote d’Ivoire, Niger Republic and Benin Republic.

The Queens, inspired by Super Falcons forward Gift Monday, won the Nigeria Women’s Football League playoffs in Benin City in May to earn the right to represent the country.

The draw for the zonal qualifying tournaments for the continental competition was held today in Rabat, Morocco, with clubs from five zones to fight for eight spots.

In West Africa Zone A, which will be held in Liberia, three clubs Determine GFC (Liberia), AS Mande (Mali) and USPA (Senegal) will gun for one ticket, while there are seven clubs in Zone B also battling for one slot.

West Africa Zone B is made up of seven clubs divided into two groups, with each group winner facing off in the final for the sole ticket. The qualifying tournament will be held in Cote d’Ivoire in August.

West Africa Zone B’s Group A has AS D’Abidjan of Cote d’Ivoire, AS Police of Niger Republic and Espor of Benin Republic.

In Group B, Nigerian champions Bayelsa Queens will face Ampem Darkoa (Ghana), USFA (Burkina Faso) and Athleta (Togo) for a spot in the WAFU B final.

In the Southern African (COSAFA) zone, six teams, including defending champions Mamelodi Sundowns, will play for two Champions League tickets.

The North African zone has two tickets available to four teams, while East Africa has eight teams battling for one slot in the lopsided Confederation of African Football arrangement.

The Central African zone also has one spot in the competition.

In all, eight clubs will qualify from the zones for the competition, which will be held in Morocco after the zonal qualifying tournaments, which are scheduled for August.


Group A
AS D’Abidjan (Cote d’Ivoire)
AS Police (Niger Republic)
Espor (Benin Republic)

Group B
Ampem Darkoa (Ghana)
USFA (Burkina Faso)
Athleta (Togo)
Bayelsa Queens (Nigeria)

Comments are closed.

Naija Times