Journalism in the service of society

Quramo Writers’ Prize 2022 shortlist announced

By James Murua

THE shortlist for the Quramo Writers’ Prize 2022 was shared by the prize organisers on Wednesday, October 5, 2022.

The Quramo Writers’ Prize is awarded annually to an unpublished fiction manuscript by an unpublished author. The award was founded by Lagos, Nigeria-based Quramo Publishers to encourage and stimulate a new community of talented writers as well as provide an opportunity for otherwise unexposed talent to achieve publishing recognition. Previous winners have been Samuel Monye (2017), Michael Emmanuel (2018), Vivian Onyekachi Ibe (2019), Kadiri Alex (2020), and Akinnimi Akintomiwa Oluwaseun (2017).

The judging panel for this year, going on from 2021, was led by Jude Idada, an award-winning author, playwright, screenwriter, and filmmaker. The other judges were Lechi Eke, writer, editor, and convener of the Reading Café at the University of Lagos; and multiple-award-winning author, Abubakar Adam Ibrahim.

The shortlist for the Quramo Writers’ Prize 2022 features manuscripts from the following writers:

  • Ibrahim Babatunde
  • Fanor Favour
  • Juliana Francis
  • Millianna Ufuomanefe Ohwode
  • Gbemre Daniel Oghenetega

The winner will be announced at the Grand Finale of the Quramo Festival of Words (QFEST) on Sunday, October 9, 2022. The winning manuscript will receive the 1 million Naira cash prize and will be published by Quramo Publishing Ltd and Harmattan Season.

Comments are closed.

Naija Times