Journalism in the service of society

Gov, state assembly elections: LIVE updates, reactions, trends, etc

⏰11: 10am: Deputy Senate President, Ovie Omo-Agege, casts ballots

💬Omo-Agege, the APC candidate in Delta State, says he expects to be announced winner. He alleged that PDP agents in Delta Central have been violent.

⏰10:48am: Sanwo-Olu, wife cast ballots

🗣Speaking on the goal of politics, the governor said: “This contest is about peace, prosperity and progress at large. All voters should be vigilant. If you see something say something. Come out and vote”

⏰10:38am: Governor Seyi Makinde exercises civic responsibility

🗣”Come out and express your choice”, he tells Oyo residents.

⏰10:35am: Buhari, Osinbajo cast their ballots in Katsina, Ogun

image 1

⏰10:05am: President-elect casts ballot, encourages Nigerians to vote peacefully.

⏰10:00am: I will go to court – Rhodes-Vivour

🗣Labour Party’s guber candidate in Lagos State, Gbadebo Rhodes-Vivour, said: “If there is voter intimidation, violence and inducement, I won’t accept the outcome of the polls. INEC must transmit votes electronically. “

⏰8:00am – INEC officials set for election in Akure.

🚨NIGERIANS, today, return to the polls to vote their next governors and state assembly members.

Of the 36 states, governorship elections will be held in 28, namely Abia, Adamawa, Akwa Ibom, Bauchi, Benue, Borno, Cross River, Delta, Ebonyi, Enugu, Gombe, Jigawa, Kaduna, Kano, Katsina, Kebbi, Kwara, Lagos, Nasarawa, Niger, Ogun, Oyo, Plateau, Rivers, Sokoto, Taraba, Yobe, and Zamfara.

💬Over the next four years, each of the other eight states – Anambra, Bayelsa, Edo, Ekiti, Imo, Kogi, Osun and Ondo – will get their chance, separately, held off-season due to litigations and court judgements.

💬As for the state legislatures, all 36 states are the home bases of thousands competing for 993 state house of assembly seats.

💬The polls were initially scheduled for March 11. But the fallout of the presidential election set back reconfiguration of the Bimodal Voter Accreditation System (BVAS) devices, prompting a one-week delay.

📊According to the Independent National Electoral Commission (INEC), a total of 87.2 million are eligible to vote, having collected their permanent voter cards (PVCs).

⏳Good morning all, welcome to our live coverage of the governorship and state assembly polls.

Photo credit: Peoples Gazette

Comments are closed.

Naija Times