Journalism in the service of society

Tinubu appoints Yar’Adua, Kyari, Onanuga, 11 others into transition committee

THE president-elect, Asiwaju Bola Tinubu, has submitted the names of 14 e Nigerians to be on the presidential transition committee ahead of his inauguration on May 29.

The committee will be in charge of organizing the weeklong ceremonies that will officially inaugurate Tinubu and Senator Kashim Shettima as the country’s new president and vice president on May 29.

This was revealed in a letter delivered to the Secretary to the Government of Federation, Boss Mustapha with six weeks to the ceremonial handover.

Recall that a few weeks ago, the president-elect named Kebbi State Governor Atiku Bagudu and former Lagos Finance Commissioner Wale Edun as members of the committee.

When contacted, the Special Adviser to the president-elect, Dr Dele Alake, who is currently far away with his principal in Paris, France capital, confirmed the report.

“Yea, the list of 14-man committee is authentic. It is genuine and few more names will come later,” Alake told PUNCH.

In the 14-member list of the PTC, the Spokesman for Tinubu-Shettima Presidential Campaign Council, Bayo Onanuga, will serve as Head of Media and Publicity while the current acting National Deputy Chairman (North) of the All Progressives Congress, Senator Abubakar Kyari, will coordinate and direct the committee’s finance and budget.

Also on the list is Col. Abdulazeez Yar’Adua, younger brother of the late President Umaru Musa Yar’Adua, who was nominated as the head of security and ceremonial parade for the inauguration.

Other dignitaries include the Executive Director of Nigeria Export-Import Bank, Stella Okotete (Secretariat, Planning and Monitoring); APC National Women Leader, Dr Betta Edu (Medical Team); former governorship aspirant in Ekiti, Makinde Araoye (Venue, Parade and Swearing in); ex-Director General of National Broadcasting Commission, Dr. Danladi Bako (Inauguration Lecture) and Zainab Marwa-Abubakar, daughter of the Chairman of the National Drug Law Enforcement Agency, Brig. Gen. Buba Marwa (retd.), who will anchor the pre-Inauguration dinner and gala night.

Other members of the committee are Samira Saddik (Children’s Day), Abuh Andrew Abuh (Accommodation), Hajiya Hadiza Mohammed Kabir (Transportation and Logistics), Donald Wokoma (Protocol and Invitation), Bishop Adegbite (Church Service) and Imam Faud (Jumat Service).

Comments are closed.

Naija Times