Journalism in the service of society

Enyimba, Insurance, Pillars, 3SC, others set for Naija Super 8

TRADITIONAL Nigerian clubs Enyimba, Bendel Insurance, Kano Pillars and Shooting Stars Sports Club (3SC) were among the 12 teams unveiled at a ceremony in Lagos tonight for the inaugural Naija Super 8 tournament.

The other clubs include Remo Stars, Rivers United, Lobi Stars and City FC.

Katsina United, Heartland, Gombe United and Yobe Stars complete the line-up of clubs drawn from the six geo-political zones of Nigeria.

The participating clubs were determined by votes from fans, a process that took several weeks and encouraged supporters to vote for clubs they would like to see in the tournament.

The 12 clubs will compete in the play-offs in Uyo, Akwa Ibom State, from where the the eight sides for the final tournament in Lagos will emerge.

The dates for the play-offs and the tournament proper have not been fixed, with the Nigeria Premier Football League set to hold its own Super 6 championship playoffs in Lagos in early June.

Eight ex-internationals have been selected as mentors for the eight teams that will play in the tournament.

World Cup stars Tijani Babangida, Mutiu Adepoju, Ike Shorunmu, Garba Lawal, Austin Eguavoen and Julius Aghahowa are among the team mentors.

They will be joined by former Bundesliga striker Jonathan Akpoborie and NPFL legend Victor Ezeji, who starred for two of the 12 teams, Rivers United and Enyimba, in a long and distinguished career.

All of the Super 8 matches will be broadcast live on SuperSport, the cable television provider announced at the unveiling ceremony, which was held on its premises.

Comments are closed.

Naija Times