Journalism in the service of society

BENUE: Gov Alia sets up committee to recover looted govt properties

THE Governor of Benue State, Hyacinth Alia, has formed a committee to reclaim all looted government property by the previous administration.

The Governor’s Chief Press Secretary, Tersoo Kula, revealed this in a statement today, adding that Alia had established an assets recovery committee at both the state and the local government levels.

According to Kula, security agents, would be deployed in the recovery mission.

The Asset recovery committee is led by former Permanent Secretary, Hingah Biem and also has members including former Attorney General of the State, Barr. Joe Abaagu, Dennis Akura, Ioryue Yajir, Peter Egbodo,Joseph Ojob, Jonathan Modi, Shaageer Matins, Yuhe Jerome, Tom Uja and Tormbuwua Terlumun as Member/Secretary.

Members at local government levels include Jude Tyo, Aondowase Apera, Kwaghgba Amande, Richard Dzungweve, Anthony Sende, Olofu Ogwuche, Terver Kachina, and Nick Eworo – Member Secretary.

“Both committees will have capable representatives from the Department of State Security, the Police, the Military, and the Nigeria Civil Defence Corps,” according to the statement.

Governor Alia also established a fact-finding committee for Benue State University.

Comments are closed.

Naija Times