Journalism in the service of society

KANO: Tribunal declares APC candidate winner of House of Reps seat

THE National and State House of Assembly elections petition tribunal, sitting in Kano on Thursday declared Hafizu Abubakar Kawu the winner of Tarauni Federal constituency of Kano.

Subsequently, the tribunal nullified the victory of a sitting member of the Constituency at the House of Representatives Muktar Yerima of the New Nigeria Peoples Party (NNPP) over certificate forgery.

Yerima, who was declared winner of the 18th February 2023 general election by the Independent National Electoral Commission (INEC) lost his rightful votes for an infraction on his primary school’s certificate.

The APC candidate and former member of the House of Representatives, Kawu petitioned the tribunal, challenging the legitimacy of Yerima’s victory on the basis of a fake certificate.

Delivering the judgement on Thursday, the three-panel justice upheld Kawu’s petition and nullified the sitting NNPP member.

The court also directed the Independent National Electoral Commission (INEC) to withdraw the certificate of return issued to the NNPP candidate.

Comments are closed.