Journalism in the service of society

LAGOS: Assembly confirms 22 commissioner-nominees, rejects 17

THE Lagos State House of Assembly today confirmed 22 of the 39 commissioner-nominees forwarded for screening by Governor Babajide Sanwo-Olu.

The Assembly, on the other hand, rejected 17 commissioner nominees.

Mudashiru Obasa, Speaker of the House, who presided over the day’s meeting, said the confirmation came after a thorough and detailed examination of the nominations by an ad-hoc committee led by House Chief Whip Fatai Mojeed.

He commended the committee’s work and asked the confirmed nominees to remember that they are in office to serve the people of the state, not individuals.

He also assured that the House will keep doing its best for the sake of the state.

The confirmation was done through a voice vote as the Speaker mentioned the name of each of the nominees.

Those confirmed include:

Hon. Layode Ibrahim
Mobolaji Ogunlende
Dr. Dolapo Fasawe
Hon. Bola Olumegbon
Idris Aregbe
Abisola Ruth Olusanya
Moruf Akinderu Fatai
Kayode Bolaji-Roberts
Engr. Abiola Olowu
Toke Benson-Awoyinka
Dr. Oreoluwa Finnih- Awokoya
Yakub Adedayo Alebiosu
Lawal Pedro SAN
Tunbosun Alake
Gbenga Oyerinde
Dr. Adekunle Olayinka
Dr. Jide Babatunde
Afolabi Ayantayo
Tokunbo Wahab
Olakunle Rotimi-Akodu
Jamiu Alli-Balogun
Abdulkabir Ogungbo

Those not confirmed by the House include:

Folashade Adefisayo
Prof. Akin Abayomi
Yomi Oluyomi
Folashade Ambrose
Barakat Bakare
Gbenga Omotosho
Engr. Olalere Odusote;
Dr. Rotimi Fashola
Bolaji Cecilia Dada
Sam Egube;
Olalekan Fatodu
Solape Hammond
Mosopefolu George
Engr. Aramide Adeyoye
Seun Osiyemi
Rotimi Ogunwuyi
Dr. Olumide Oluyinka

Recall that some Islamic clerics had last week protested alleged lopsidedness over the list of commissioner-nominees submitted to the Assembly by the governor. They had claimed that eight Muslims made the governor’s 39-man list while the rest were Christians.

Comments are closed.

Naija Times