Journalism in the service of society

Ballon d’Or: Osimhen, Oshoala, Saka, Messi, Haaland, Onana nominated


TWO Nigerian stars, Victor Osimhen and Asisat Oshoala, along with Bukayo Saka, Lionel Messi and Erling Haaland have been included among the nominees for different categories of the 2023 Ballon d’Or awards.

The Ballon d’Or, organised by the France Football magazine, is an annual celebration of the best footballers in the world voted for by fellow players, coaches and journalists covering the sport.

Super Eagles striker Osimhen has been nominated for the first time among the top 30 men’s players in the world after a brilliant season with Napoli in which he led the club to their first Serie A title in 33 years and was top scorer in the Italian top flight.

He will contend with 29 other outstanding players including seven-time winner Lionel Messi, who was the best player at the Qatar 2022 World as he captained Argentina to the title, and Erling Haaland, the prolific Manchester City striker whose goals helped the club to the FA Cup, Premier League and UEFA Champions League Treble.

Other nominees in the men’s Ballon d’Or include England international with Nigerian heritage Saka, World Cup top scorer with France Kylian Mbappe, England captain Harry Kane, and past winners Karim Benzema and Luka Modric.

The other African players in the men’s nomination list are Cameroon and Manchester United’s Andre Onana, Egypt and Liverpool’s Mohamed Salah and Morocco’s Yassine Bono.

Both Onana and Bono are also nominated for the Yashine Trophy for best goalkeeper.

In the women’s Ballon d’Or category, Super Falcons and Barcelona striker Oshoala is the only African recognised.

She is in contention with 29 other top women’s players including 2023 World Cup winner with Spain Olga Carmona, Ecuador youngster Linda Caicedo, Japan’s Hiyata Miyazawa, Australia striker Sam Kerr and England goalkeeper Mary Earps.

The 2023 Ballon d’Or ceremony will be held in Paris on October 30 when all the winners will be announced.

Victor Osimhen
Kylian Mbappé
Kim Min-jae
Luka Modrić
Harry Kane
Robert Lewandowski
Antoine Griezmann
Lautaro Martínez
Lionel Messi
Martin Ødegaard
Ilkay Gündogan
Julián Álvarez
Yassine Bono
Vinicius Jr
Khvicha Kvaratskhelia
Emiliano Martínez
Erling Haaland
Nicoló Barella
Rubén Dias
Randal Kolo Muani
Jude Bellingham
Kevin de Bruyne
Bernardo Silva
Bukayo Saka
Karim Benzema
Joško Gvardiol
Jamal Musiala
André Onana
Mo Salah


Comments are closed.