Journalism in the service of society

NFF names strong Super Falcons squad for WAFCON qualifier vs Sao Tome



THE Nigeria Football Federation has named a squad of 25 Super Falcons players, including Asisat Oshoala, Chiamaka Nnadozie, Michelle Alozie, Rasheedat Ajibade and other 2023 FIFA Women’s World Cup stars, for the Women’s Africa Cup of Nations qualifying tie against Sao Tome and Principe.

The nine-time African champions will host Sao Tome and Principe at the Mobolaji Johnson Arena in Lagos next Friday, with the return leg of the first qualifying round tie scheduled for four days later.

Also included in the squad from the World Cup are 40-yead-old team captain Onome Ebi, defenders Oluwatosin Demehin and Rofiat Imuran, midfielder Toni Payne, and forwards Ifeoma Onumonu and Gift Monday.

Among the players called up for the tie but who were not at the World Cup in Australia and New Zealand, where the Super Falcons reached the round of 16, are Besiktas striker Vivian Nwachukwu, Edo Queens defender Comfort Folorunsho, Bayelsa Queens goalkeeper Monle Oyono and Robo Queens midfielder Esther Onyenezide.

Osinachi Ohale, Deborah Abiodun, Halimatu Ayinde, Ashleigh Plumptre and Uchenna Kanu, all of whom were involved in the World Cup last month, were not invited.

It is still not clear who will guide the Super Falcons during the tie as the NFF is negotiating a contract renewal with head coach Randy Waldrum after they had initially declared the position vacant.

The winners of the tie between Nigeria and Sao Tome will face either Cape Verde or Liberia in the second qualifying round scheduled for between November 27 and December 5.

Morocco, who hosted last year’s edition of the continental showpiece, will again host the tournament next year.


Chiamaka Nnadozie (Paris FC); Tochukwu Oluehi (Shualat Alsharqia FC, Saudi Arabia); Monle Oyono (Bayelsa Queens)

Onome Ebi (Naija Ratels); Akudo Ogbonna (Remo Stars Ladies); Comfort Folorunsho (Edo Queens); Oluwatosin Demehin (Stade de Reims, France); Michelle Alozie (Houston Dash, USA); Nicole Payne (Paris Saint Germain, France); Jumoke Alani (Edo Queens); Rofiat Imuran (Stade de Reims, France)

Peace Efih (Sporting Club de Braga, Portugal); Esther Onyenezide (FC Robo Queens); Christy Ucheibe (SL Benfica, Portugal); Rasheedat Ajibade (Atletico Madrid FC, Spain); Toni Payne (Sevilla FC, Spain); Regina Otu (AS Saint Etienne, France)

Flourish Sebastine (Bayelsa Queens); Ifeoma Onumonu (NY/NJ Gotham FC, USA); Asisat Oshoala (FC Barcelona Femeni, Spain); Vivian Ikechukwu (Besiktas JK, Turkey); Gift Monday (UDG Tenerife, Spain); Chiamaka Okuchukwu (Rivers Angels); Opeyemi Ajakaye (FC Robo Queens)

Comments are closed.