Journalism in the service of society

Lukaku included as Belgium, Cameroon name World Cup squads

Romelu Lukaku has been included in Belgium’s squad for the Qatar 2022 World Cup, which will be held from November 20 to December 18.

Cameroon also named their World Cup squad today, surprisingly leaving out Belgium-based defender Michael Ngadeu-Ngadjui and calling up two home-based players.

Inter Milan striker Lukaku was a major doubt due to a muscle injury, with Belgium head coach Roberto Martinez insisting he had to be fit to be in the 26-man squad.

Eden Hazard, who has also struggled for form and fitness and has not played for Real Madrid since September, is in the squad too, along with his younger brother Thorgan and several regular faces.

The Red Devils, who reached the semi-finals in 2018, are in Group F with Canada, Morocco and Croatia.

On their part, Cameroon head coach Rigobert Song dropped the veteran Ngadeu-Ngadjui and included the Cameroon-based pair Souaibou Marou and Jerome Ngom — who had won their first caps just hours before in a 1-1 friendly draw with Jamaica.

Song, who captained the national team in his playing days, named a number of veterans in the squad, including skipper Vincent Aboubakar, who is heading to his third World Cup, 32-year-old defender Nicolas Nkoulou, and Bayern Munich striker Eric-Maxime Choupo Moting, who is 33.

Former Liverpool defender Song also included uncapped teenage goalkeeper Simon Ngapandouetnbu, who is on the books of Marseille but is yet to play a senior match.

The Indomitable Lions are off to their eighth World Cup — an African record — and face Switzerland, Serbia and Brazil in Group G.


Goalkeepers: Thibaut Courtois, Simon Mignolet, Koen Casteels

Defenders: Jan Vertonghen, Toby Alderweireld, Leander Dendoncker, Zeno Debast, Arthur Theate, Wout Faes

Midfielders: Hans Vanaken, Axel Witsel, Youri Tielemans, Amadou Onana, Kevin De Bruyne, Yannick Carrasco, Thorgan Hazard, Timothy Castagne, Thomas Meunier

Forwards: Romelu Lukaku, Michy Batshuayi, Loïs Openda, Charles De Ketelaere, Eden Hazard, Jeremy Doku, Dries Mertens, Leandro Trossard.


Goalkeepers: Devis Epassy (Abha Club), Simon Ngapandouetnbu (Olympique de Marseille), Andre Onana (Inter Milan)

Defenders: Jean-Charles Castelletto (Nantes), Enzo Ebosse (Udinese), Collins Fai (Al Tai), Olivier Mbaizo (Philadelphia Union), Nicolas Nkoulou (Aris Salonika), Tolo Nouhou (Seattle Sounders), Christopher Wooh (Stade Rennes)

Midfielders: Martin Hongla (Verona), Pierre Kunde (Olympiakos), Olivier Ntcham (Swansea City), Gael Ondoua (Hannover 96), Samuel Oum Gouet (Mechelen), Andre-Frank Zambo Anguissa (Napoli)

Forwards: Vincent Aboubakar (Al Nassr), Christian Bassogog (Shanghai Shenhua), Eric-Maxime Choupo Moting (Bayern Munich), Souaibou Marou (Coton Sport), Bryan Mbeumo (Brentford), Nicolas Moumi Ngamaleu (Young Boys Berne), Jerome Ngom (Colombe Dja), Georges-Kevin Nkoudou (Besiktas), Jean-Pierre Nsame (Young Boys Berne), Karl Toko Ekambi (Olympique Lyonnais)

Comments are closed.

Naija Times