Journalism in the service of society

Tomori, Abraham dropped, Saka named in England’s World Cup squad

Two players of Nigerian heritage who opted to represent England have been excluded from the Three Lions squad to the Qatar 2022 World Cup, while another one will be on the plane.

Fikayo Tomori of AC Milan, who was born in Canada to Nigerian parents, and AS Roma’s Tammy Abraham, who has Nigerian parents, are both England internationals but were not named in the Three Lions squad to Qatar.

England head coach Gareth Southgate announced the 26-man squad today, which included Bukayo Saka, another player with Nigerian blood who opted to play for the European nation.

Despite centre-back Tomori’s good form for AC Milan, he was snubbed by Southgate, the coach preferring the likes of struggling Manchester United defender Harry Maguire, Everton’s Conor Coady and Tottenham Hotspur’s Eric Dier in his position.

Striker Abraham, who was seriously courted by Nigeria, has struggled for form this season, scoring only four goals in 19 appearances for Roma in Serie A and the UEFA Europa League, so his exclusion did not come as a surprise.

Both players were also left out of the England squad that reached the final of the European Championships last year.

Arsenal forward Saka, however, has been an England regular in the last two years, featuring at the Euros and expected to be a key player in Qatar.

Southgate also included Leicester midfielder James Maddison, Manchester United forward Marcus Rashford, Newcastle striker Callum Wilson and Arsenal defender Ben White, who have all been in good form in recent weeks.

The Three Lions are in Group B in Qatar, along with Iran, Wales and the United States of America.


Goalkeepers: Jordan Pickford (Everton), Nick Pope (Newcastle), Aaron Ramsdale (Arsenal)

Harry Maguire (Manchester United), Luke Shaw (Manchester United), Eric Dier (Tottenham), John Stones (Manchester City), Kyle Walker (Manchester City), Kieran Trippier (Newcastle), Conor Coady (Everton), Ben White (Arsenal), Trent Alexander-Arnold (Liverpool)

Jude Bellingham (Borussia Dortmund), Mason Mount (Chelsea), Conor Gallagher (Chelsea), Declan Rice (West Ham), Jordan Henderson (Liverpool), Kalvin Phillips (Manchester City)

James Maddison (Leicester), Phil Foden (Manchester City), Jack Grealish (Manchester City), Harry Kane (Tottenham), Bukayo Saka (Arsenal), Raheem Sterling (Chelsea), Callum Wilson (Newcastle), Marcus Rashford (Manchester United)

Comments are closed.

Naija Times