Journalism in the service of society

Arsenal, City, United, Newcastle players dominate EPL Team of the Season nominations

THE top four teams in the English Premier League have the most nominees for the Premier League Team of the Season, the list released tonight showed.

Leaders Arsenal have seven players among the nominees, second-placed Manchester City have five, third-placed Manchester United four and fourth-placed Newcastle United five.

Tottenham Hotspur, who are currently in fifth place, also have four players among the nominees.

In all, there are 40 players nominated to fill the 11 positions, with public votes to determine which of the stars are named in the Team of the Season.

Arsenal’s stars among the nominees include goalkeeper Aaron Ramsdale, defenders Gabriel and William Saliba, midfielder Martin Odegaard and forward Bukayo Saka.

Manchester City have centre-back Ruben Dias, midfielder Kevin De Bruyne and top scorer Erling Haaland among the nominees.

Manchester United are represented by defenders Luke Shaw and Lisandro Martinez as well as forward Marcus Rashford and midfielder Casemiro.

Newcastle’s players on the list include goalkeeper Nick Pope and defenders Steve Botman and Kieran Trippier.

Players from Liverpool, Chelsea, Brighton, Brentford, Aston Villa, Fulham and Leicester City are also nominated.


Nick Pope (Newcastle), Aaron Ramsdale (Arsenal), Alisson Becker (Liverpool), Berndt Leno (Fulham), Kepa Arrizabalaga (Chelsea)

Gabriel (Arsenal), William Saliba (Arsenal), Lisandro Martinez (Manchester United), Kieran Trippier (Newcastle), Sven Botman (Newcastle), Oleksandr Zinchenko (Arsenal), Thiago Silva (Chelsea), Ben Mee (Brentford), Luke Shaw (Manchester United), Cristian Romero (Tottenham Hotspur), Ruben Dias (Manchester City)

Martin Odegaard (Arsenal), Kevin De Bruyne (Manchester City), Casemiro (Manchester United), Rodri (Manchester City), Bruno Guimaraes (Newcastle), Alexis Mac Allister (Brighton), Palinha (Fulham), James Maddison (Leicester City), Solly March (Brighton), Kaoru Mitoma (Brighton), Rodrigo Bentacur (Tottenham), Pierre-Emile Hojbjerg (Tottenham Hotspur)


Erling Haaland (Manchester City), Bukayo Saka (Arsenal), Harry Kane (Tottenham Hotspur), Gabriel Martinelli (Arsenal), Jack Grealish (Manchester City), Marcus Rashford (Manchester United), Mohamed Salah (Liverpool), Miguel Almiron (Newcastle), Ollie Watkins (Aston Villa), Kai Havertz (Chelsea), Riyad Mahrez (Manchester City), Darwin Nunez (Liverpool).

Comments are closed.

Naija Times