Journalism in the service of society

Man United’s Rashford, Ten Hag win Premier League February awards

MANCHESTER United forward Marcus Rashford and his manager Erik ten Hag have won the Premier League Player and Manager of the Month awards for February.

It is the third time this season that Rashford is winning the player award while Ten Hag has claimed the manager prize for the second time.

Manchester United have now won the Manager of the Month and Player of the Month award in the same month twice in a single season for the first time since 2007/2008, when Sir Alex Ferguson and Cristiano Ronaldo first did it.

Rashford has also matched Mohamed Salah’s record of claiming the award thrice in the same season, having won it in September, January and now February.

The 25-year-old England forward earned the award after scoring five goals in four matches to help Manchester United go unbeaten through the month.

He scored in all of his appearances in February, when United defeated Crystal Palace, Leeds United and Leicester City, and secured a comeback draw with Leeds having been two goals behind.

Rashford is the first player to win the award in consecutive months since Ilkay Gundogan did so in January and February 2021.

Overall, it is the fourth time Rashford has won the award in his career, three short of the record jointly held by Sergio Aguero and Harry Kane.

Rashford beat Nigeria and Leicester City striker Kelechi Iheanacho, Bernd Leno, Emerson Royal, Manor Solomon and Ollie Watkins to the award after the public’s votes on the EA SPORTS website were combined with those of a panel of football experts.

In the manager category, Ten Hag was rewarded for guiding Manchester United through February unbeaten.

The Dutchman led Manchester United to 10 points from four matches, beating Crystal Palace, Leeds and Leicester City as well as overseeing a come-from-behind draw with Leeds, bringing on Jadon Sancho to score the equaliser.

The former Ajax manager also helped to secure United’s first trophy since 2017, beating Newcastle United 2-0 in the EFL Cup final.

Ten Hag wins the accolade for a second time this season, having also claimed the September prize.

Ten Hag beat fellow nominees Antonio Conte and Marco Silva to the prize.

Comments are closed.

Naija Times