Journalism in the service of society

Kenya, Uganda, Tanzania bid beats Nigeria/Benin to 2027 AFCON hosting rights


KENYA, Uganda and Tanzania have jointly won the hosting rights for the Africa Cup of Nations in 2027 ahead of the joint bid from Nigeria and Republic of Benin.

The Confederation of African Football announced the winners of the rights today in Cairo, Egypt after their executive committee meeting.

It is the first time any of the three East African countries will be hosting the continent’s biggest single-sport tournament, and none of them has ever won it.

In contrast, Nigeria hosted and won it in 1980 and co-hosted in 2000 with Ghana, when the Super Eagles reached the final but lost on penalties to Cameroon in Lagos.

Meanwhile, Morocco will host the 2025 edition after being given the rights by CAF.

The North African country last hosted the AFCON in 1988 and was chosen in 2015 but asked for the tournament to be postponed because of the Ebola virus, although CAF later decided to strip it of the hosting rights.

Morocco hosted the 2022 Women’s Africa Cup of Nations and reached the final, and will also organise the next edition in 2024.

Comments are closed.