Journalism in the service of society

Manchester City win record fourth straight EPL title as Forest survive


MANCHESTER City have won the English Premier League title after a 3-1 victory over West Ham United at the Etihad Stadium today.

It the fourth consecutive Premier League title for Manchester City, the first club to achieve the feat in the English top flight.

Premier League Player of the Year Phil Foden scored twice for Manchester City, with Rodri adding the third after Ghana forward Mohammed Kudus had reduced the deficit just before half-time.

Manchester City finished the season with 91 points, two ahead of second-placed Arsenal, who came from behind to beat Everton 2-1 at the Emirates Stadium today.

Senegal midfielder Idrissa Gueye gave Everton a shock lead just five minutes before the break but Arsenal levelled three minutes later through Takehiru Tomiyasu.

Arsenal did not get the winner until one minute before the end of regulation time through Kai Havertz, but it was not enough to earn them their first Premier League trophy since 2004.

Liverpool sealed third place with a 2-0 victory over Wolves at Anfield in Jurgen Klopp’s final match in charge, while Aston Villa finished fourth and secured the last UEFA Champions League spot despite a 5-0 defeat at Crystal Palace.

Tottenham Hotspur defeated relegated Sheffield United 3-0 at Bramall Lane to seal fifth spot and a Europa League place, with Chelsea claiming sixth spot and a Conference League ticket (for now) after a 2-1 home win over Bournemouth.

Nottingham Forest confirmed their survival with a 2-1 win at Burnley as Luton Town join the Clarets and Sheffield United in going down to the Championship.

In other matches, Manchester United ended their dismal run against Brighton with a 2-0 win at the Amex Stadium, while Luton Town lost 4-2 at home to Fulham.

Comments are closed.

Naija Times